History Division

The History Division invites submissions of original research papers and historiographical essays on all aspects of media history for the AEJMC 2013 conference in Washington, D.C. All research methodologies are welcome.

Papers will be evaluated on originality and importance of topic; literature review; clarity of research purpose; focus; use of evidence to support the paper’s purpose and conclusions; and the degree to which the paper contributes to the field of journalism and mass communication history. The Division presents awards for the top three faculty papers.

Papers should be no more than 25-double-spaced pages, not including notes or appendices. Multiple submissions to the Division are not allowed and only one paper per author will be accepted for presentation in the History Division’s research sessions. Authors should also submit a 75-word abstract. The author’s name and all other identifying information must be removed from submissions.

Papers must be electronically submitted using the services of All-Academic; the website is www.allacademic.com. The deadline is 11:59 P.M. (Central Daylight Time) Monday, April 1. Authors are encouraged to read the Uniform Paper Call for detailed submission information. The organization’s website is www.aejmc.org.

Student Papers: Undergraduate and graduate students enrolled during the 2012-13 academic year may enter the Warren Price Student Paper Competition. The Price Award recognizes the History Division’s best student paper and is named for Warren Price, who was the Division’s first chair. Student papers should include a separate cover sheet that indicates their student status but omits the author’s name or other identifying information. Students who submit top papers are eligible for small travel grants from the Edwin Emery Fund. Only full-time students not receiving departmental travel grants are eligible for these grants.

Call for Reviewers: If you are willing to review papers for the History Division research competition, please contact Kathy Roberts Forde at fordekr@sc.edu and indicate your areas of expertise and/or interest. We will need approximately 75 reviewers for the competition. Graduate students are not eligible to serve as reviewers and, in general, reviewers should not have submitted their own research into the competition.

Contact information: For more information, contact History Division Research Chair Kathy Roberts Forde (University of South Carolina) at fordekr@sc.edu or 803-708-2272.

<<Paper Call

Print friendly Print friendly

About kysh