2018 AEJMC Equity & Diversity Award

Call for Applications (Application deadline: January 10, 2018)

AEJMC is seeking applications for the 2018 AEJMC Equity & Diversity Award, which recognizes journalism and mass communication academic units that have attained measurable success in increasing equity and diversity among their faculty.

The unit must display progress and innovation in racial, gender, and ethnic equality and diversity during the previous three years.

The previous recipients of the AEJMC Equity & Diversity Award were: Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication (2017), University of North Texas’ Mayborn School of Journalism (2016), University of Alabama’s College of Communication and Information Sciences (2015), Iowa State’s Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication (2014), Penn State’s College of Communications (2013), The University of Southern California Annenberg School of Journalism (2012), Texas State University’s School of Journalism and Mass Communication (2011), Elon University’s School of Communications (2010), and Louisiana State University’s Manship School of Mass Communication (2009).

The 2018 AEJMC Equity & Diversity Award will be presented during AEJMC’s 101th Conference (August 6 through 9, 2018) at the Renaissance Washington 999 9th St. NW, Washington, DC 20001. The AEJMC president also will travel to the winning academic unit during the 2018-19 academic year to make an on-campus presentation of the award.

The AEJMC Equity & Diversity Award selection committee will expect applications to address all the items listed in the following areas as the committee will evaluate the academic units’ efforts over the past three years:

  1. Hiring and Recruitment: The academic unit illustrates efforts in recruiting or hiring qualified faculty from groups historically underrepresented in U.S. academia and/or from groups that reflect the communities that the unit serves. Evidence should include changes in salary levels and hiring packages.
  2. Status of Current Faculty: The academic unit illustrates equitable representation among full-time and part-time faculty that include groups historically underrepresented in U.S. academia and/or groups that reflect the communities that the unit serves. Evidence should include retention efforts; recent tenure and promotion rates; mentoring; and faculty participation in service/activities.
  3. Climate: The academic unit illustrates a supportive climate. The unit strives to be free of discrimination. Evidence should include curriculum and programming; faculty/student perceptions; and decreasing number of grievances.
  4. Institutionally Embedded Support: The academic unit offers formal support for equity and diversity initiatives. Evidence should include mentorship activities and graduate student support.
  5. Other initiatives to foster diversity: The academic unit has initiated other diversity efforts not listed above. Evidence should include specific details of such initiatives.

Applications may be submitted by any AEJMC or ASJMC member, by any faculty member within the nominated unit, or by the head of the nominated unit. The following application materials are required:

a) A cover letter or e-mailed text that includes contact person’s name, phone numbers and e-mail address; title and address of nominated unit and institution; and name and title of unit’s head.

b) A completed EDA Demographics Form that provides a description of the unit’s faculty and students, its degrees conferred, and other information. The form is available on the AEJMC website at  http://www.aejmc.org/home/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/2017-EDA-Demographics-Form.pdf

c) A narrative, which describes the equity and diversity efforts of the academic unit. The narrative might include goals, actions steps, and outcomes toward achieving a work environment that promotes equity and diversity.

d) A letter from the unit head supporting the nomination.

e) At least (3) additional letters of support/recommendation.

Applications may include additional materials, such as: description of specific institutional policies or legislation outlining diversity opportunities or barriers, and documentation of other awards received. The full application should not exceed 25 pages (excluding letters of recommendation/support).

Complete applications MUST BE COLLATED into ONE DIGITAL FILE AS A PDF FILE and sent as an e-mail attachment to Dr. Carolina Acosta-Alzuru, (University of Georgia) at cacosta@uga.edu. Mention “AEJMC_diversity” in the subject line of your email submission. Only e-mailed applications will be accepted. Applications that are incomplete will not be considered.

The application deadline is 5 p.m. Eastern Time, January 10, 2018. Late applications will be included in next year’s competition.

Important: Applications remain active and eligible for three years; reconsidered academic units are encouraged to update their applications. Previous Equity & Diversity Award recipients may apply again after 10 years of receiving the award.

Please address any questions to:
Dr. Carolina Acosta-Alzuru
Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication
University of Georgia
120 Hooper St.
Athens, GA 30602, USA.

E-mail: cacosta@uga.edu

The committee reserves the right not to present an award in any given year.

AEJMC is the oldest and largest alliance of journalism and mass communication educators and administrators at the college level. Founded in 1912, AEJMC is a nonprofit, educational association of some 3,700 journalism and mass communication educators, students, and media professionals from across the globe. The Association’s mission is to advance education in journalism and mass communication to the end of achieving better professional practice, a better informed public, and wider human understanding. Read more about AEJMC at http://www.aejmc.org/.

AEJMC Awards

Print friendly Print friendly

About kysh