Eleanor Blum Distinguished Service to Research Award

Nominations for the 2018 Eleanor Blum Distinguished Service to Research Award will be accepted until Friday, Dec. 8.

The Blum Research Award was created to recognize people who have devoted substantial parts of their careers to promoting research in mass communication. It is named in honor of its first recipient, the late Eleanor Blum, a long-time communications librarian at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

The Blum Award is not necessarily given every year, but nominations received by Dec. 8 will be considered for the 2018 award. Nomination packets should include a letter describing the nominee’s contributions in the area of the award, the nominee’s C.V. and at least five additional letters of support (preferably more) from colleagues who can attest to the candidate’s qualifications. Nominators should represent a range of institutions and perspectives on the nominee’s accomplishments.

Recent previous winners include 2017 Esther Thorson, Michigan State; 2016 Paula Poindexter, Texas at Austin; 2014 Dan Riffe, North Carolina; 2008 Maurine Beasley, Maryland; 2007 Patrick Washburn, Ohio; 2006 James W. Tankard, Jr., Texas at Austin (posthumously); 2005 Margaret Blanchard, North Carolina (posthumously); and 2004 Everette E. Dennis, Fordham.

Nomination packets and letters for the Blum Award should be submitted electronically in a single PDF file to Marcia DiStaso at mdistaso@ufl.edu. Please direct any questions to Marcia DiStaso at 352-273-1220.

AEJMC Awards

Print friendly Print friendly

About kysh