Bliss Award Nominations

Nominations are due Feb. 15, 2018, for AEJMC’s Edward L. Bliss Award for Distinguished Broadcast Journalism Education. The award is presented annually by AEJMC’s Electronic News Division and recognizes an electronic journalism educator who has made significant and lasting contributions to the field. Criteria for nomination and selection:

• Teaching: Evidence of long-standing excellent and innovative teaching and student engagement.
• Service: Evidence of leadership in professional or educational organizations such as AEJMC, RTDNA, SPJ, state broadcast news organizations and at the candidate¹s college or university.
• Research: Evidence of enhanced teaching and service through professional and/or academic writing and research including journal articles, articles in professional trade publications and creative work for broadcast.

Nominations are solicited from the broadcast media, professional organizations and associations, and broadcast educators or students. Letters of nomination should contain specific examples of each of the categories listed above.

The successful Bliss nomination packet will include:

• a detailed, thorough letter of nomination.
• a complete curriculum vitae of the nominee.
• supporting letters from students/former students. These letters should be concise and limited to no more than seven.
• supporting letters from colleagues, collaborators or co-authors. These should also be concise and limited to no more than seven.
• supporting materials including news coverage of awards and activities. These materials should be VERY limited in number.

Examples of writing or other work by the nominee should not be included. Do not include a statement by the nominee in support of your nomination. Nominations will remain active with the Bliss selection committee for three years. Nominations will be reviewed by a committee selected by the Electronic News Division officers lead by past division head Bill Silcock, Arizona State. The award will be presented at a special ceremony held by the division at AEJMC’s August 2018 Washington, D.C., Conference. The recipient will receive a recognition plaque and a waiver of conference registration fees. In addition, the recipient’s name will be added to the permanent plaque housed at American University in Washington, D.C, Ed Bliss’ university during his teaching career.

Nominations should be sent to (electronic submissions preferred): Bill Silcock, Assistant Dean for Research and Global Programs, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, Arizona State University, 555 N. Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004,, 602-319-2818. Silcock may also be contacted for questions and more information.

AEJMC Awards

Print friendly Print friendly

About kysh