Deutschmann Research Award Nominations

The Paul J. Deutschmann Award for Excellence in Research recognizes a body of significant research over the course of an individual’s career. The award is named in honor of Paul J. Deutschmann, who developed the College of Communication Arts at Michigan State University. It serves as the AEJMC Research Award, recognizing the top scholars in the association who have made a major impact on the research of the field during their career.

The Deutschmann Award is based on demonstrable influence on the field and is therefore not necessarily awarded every year. To be considered for the 2018 award, nominations must be received by Dec. 1, 2017.

Nomination packets should include a letter describing the ways that the nominee’s contributions shaped the mass communication field, focusing on how the nominee has impacted the specific area of his/her research and the broad field of mass communication. The AEJMC Standing Committee on Research encourages the consideration and nomination of diverse candidates for this award.

In addition, the nomination packet should include the nominee’s C.V. and 8-10 letters of support from colleagues who can attest to the candidate’s qualifications for the award. Nominators should represent a range of institutions and perspectives on the nominee’s accomplishments and influence.

Recent recipients include 2017 Stephen Reese, Texas at Austin; 2015 Pamela Shoemaker, Syracuse; 2013 Lee Becker, Georgia; 2011 Sharon Dunwoody, Wisconsin-Madison; 2010 Stephen Lacy, Michigan State; 2009 David Weaver, Indiana; and 2007 Guido H. Stempel, III, Ohio.

Nomination letters and packets for the Deutschmann Award should be submitted electronically in a single PDF file to Jisu Huh at Please direct any questions to Jisu Huh at or 612-626-5527 or María E. Len-Ríos at or 706-542-2409.

AEJMC Awards

Print friendly Print friendly

About kysh