Baskett Mosse Award for Faculty Development

The Baskett Mosse Award for Faculty Development recognizes an outstanding young or midcareer faculty member in journalism or mass communication. Its recipient is awarded a stipend to be used toward work on a development or enrichment activity in any appropriate aspect of teaching, research or public service.

The proposed activity should be a true enrichment-oriented activity, not just to assist in normal work or for attendance at a conference. Young or mid-career faculty members teaching in ACEJMC-accredited journalism programs are eligible to apply. Applicants must have been AEJMC members for at least the past two years.

Applicants must submit the following:

  • a typed, double-spaced description of the activity toward which the stipend will be applied. The description should not exceed 2 pages. The activity may be new or ongoing.
  • a copy of the applicant’s curriculum vita.
  • a letter of recommendation for the applicant’s activity from the administrative head of the journalism program. Letter should be no more than 2 pages.

No more than one application from the same program will be accepted the same year. If there are more than one potential application from a program, the administrative head must rule on which application to submit.

Selection of the winner is determined by the Baskett Mosse Award Committee, composed of three AEJMC members (appointed by AEJMC’s president) and two ACEJMC members.

The committee reserves the right not to present the award. Winners of previous Baskett Mosse awards may not enter the competition again.

All entries should be submitted by email in one PDF file by 5 p.m. (Eastern time) on April 1 to Type “Baskett Mosse Award” in the email subject line.

For questions, contact Jennifer McGill at above email or 803-798-0271.

AEJMC Awards

Print friendly Print friendly

About kysh