AEJMC Award Calls

Browse this page for AEJMC award calls. Awards Calls are listed in alphabetical order below. Awards shown below without links, do not have current announcements available. AEJMC membership is required for application of the following awards.


  • Baskett Mosse Award for Faculty Development
    The Baskett Mosse Award for Faculty Development recognizes an outstanding young or midcareer faculty member in journalism or mass communication. Its recipient is awarded a stipend to be used toward work on a development or enrichment activity in any appropriate aspect of teaching, research or public service. Young or mid-career faculty members teaching in ACEJMC-accredited journalism programs are eligible to apply. Nominations are due by 5 p.m. (Eastern time) on April 1. See complete call.
  • Best Journalism and Mass Communication History Book Award
    The AEJMC History Division award for the Best Journalism and Mass Communication History Book Award is given annually, and the winning author will receive a plaque and a cash prize at the AEJMC conference.
  • Edward L. Bliss Award for Distinguished Broadcast Journalism Education
    The award is presented annually by AEJMC’s Electronic News Division and recognizes an electronic journalism educator who has made significant and lasting contributions to the field.
  • The Dorothy Bowles Award for Outstanding Public Service
    AEJMC is accepting nominations for the Dorothy Bowles Award for Outstanding Public Service. This award will recognize an AEJMC member who has a sustained and significant public-service record that has helped build bridges between academics and professionals in mass communications, either nationally or locally, and been actively engaged within the association. Nominations should be received by April 1. See complete call.
  • The Eleanor Blum Distinguished Service to Research Award
    Created to recognize people who have devoted substantial parts of their careers to promoting research in mass communication. It is named in honor of its first recipient, Eleanor Blum, a long-time communication librarian at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
  • Covert Award
    The History Division of AEJMC presents the Covert Award. The award is presented to the author of the best mass communication history article, essay or book chapters in edited collections published each year. The award is named for the late Catherine L. Covert, professor of public communications at Syracuse University and former head of the History Division. Electronic publication in PDF form due by March 1, 2019. See complete call.
  • The Paul J. Deutschmann Award for Excellence in Research
    The Paul J. Deutschmann Award for Excellence in Research recognizes a body of significant research over the course of an individual’s career. The award is named in honor of Paul J. Deutschmann, who developed the College of Communication Arts at Michigan State University. It serves as the AEJMC Research Award, recognizing the top scholars in the association who have made a major impact on the research of the field during their career. The Deutschmann Award is based on demonstrable influence on the field and is therefore not necessarily awarded every year.
  • The AEJMC Equity & Diversity Award
    Recognizes journalism and mass communication academic units that are working toward, and have attained measurable success, in increasing equity and diversity among their faculty. The unit must display progress and innovation in racial, gender, and ethnic equality and diversity during the previous three years. Specifically, units will be evaluated for progress and innovation in racial, gender, and ethnic equity and diversity.
  • AEJMC-Knudson Latin America Prize
    The AEJMC-Knudson Latin America Prize will be given annually to a book or project concerning Latin America or coverage of issues in Latin America. The work must make an original contribution to improve knowledge about Latin America to U.S. students, journalists or the public. This award was endowed by the late Jerry Knudson, an emeritus professor at Temple University.
  • Krieghbaum Under-40 Award
    The Krieghbaum Under-40 Award honors AEJMC members under 40 years of age who have shown outstanding achievement and effort in all three AEJMC areas: teaching, research and public service. Nominees must be AEJMC members in good standing at the time of the nomination and during the preceding year. The late Hillier Krieghbaum, former New York University professor emeritus and 1972 AEJMC president, created and funded the award in 1980. Deadline is by 5 p.m. (Eastern time) on April 1. See complete call.
  • Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Outstanding Woman Junior Scholar Award
    Sponsored by the Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Center for the Advancement of Women in Communication at Florida International University and the AEJMC Commission on the Status of Women, this award is designed to honor junior faculty researchers and encourage them as they pursue their research agendas in the academy.
  • The Lionel C. Barrow Jr. Award for Distinguished Achievement in Diversity Research and Education
    The Lionel C. Barrow Jr. Award for Distinguished Achievement in Diversity Research and Education is jointly supported by the Minorities and Communication (MAC) Division and the Commission on the Status of Minorities (CSM) and recognizes outstanding individual accomplishment and leadership in diversity efforts for underrepresented groups by race and ethnicity, in Journalism and Mass Communication. Entries should be received by 11:59 p.m. EST, March 15. See complete call.
  • The Nafziger-White-Salwen Dissertation Award
    The award provides recognition for for the best Ph.D. dissertation in the field of mass communication research excellence and includes a monetary reward. The Research Committee reserves the right to not grant the award in any given year. The Award is named for Ralph O. Nafziger and David Manning White, authors of “Introduction to Mass Communication Research,” and Michael Salwen, co-author (with Don Stacks) of “An Integrated Approach to Communication Theory and Research.” Salwen’s name was added to the award starting in 2008.
  • Tankard Book Award
    The Standing Committee on Research administers the Tankard Book Award competition for AEJMC. Authors who are AEJMC members may self-nominate any first-edition scholarly monograph, edited collection, or textbook published the current year of call that is relevant to journalism and mass communication. Nominated books can be co-authored or co-edited, and must be well-written and break new ground.
Print friendly Print friendly