AEJMC-Knudson Latin America Prize

AEJMC is calling for books and manuscript-length non-fiction reporting projects (including multi-media) for the AEJMC-Knudson Latin America Prize.

This annual award is given to a book or project concerning Latin America or coverage of issues in Latin America. The work must make an original contribution to improve knowledge about Latin America to U.S. students, journalists or the public.  The submission should either be journalistic or educational in nature, or both.  The submission may be the result of one author or a team’s work; all authors must be current AEJMC members.  The work must have been published in English. Only one submission is allowed per person.  AEJMC does reserve the right to not present an award.

Topics are open, but preference will be given to works on civic issues or topics that promote social change and that break new ground.  Works must have been published in 2017.  Entries should include six copies of the work as well as a narrative putting the work in social, political and cultural context.  The winner must attend the AEJMC Conference in Washington, D.C., in August 2018 to receive the award. The winner will be notified by mid-June 2018. Questions may be directed to Jennifer McGill at or 803-798-0271.

To submit a work for the AEJMC-Knudson Latin America Prize, submit the following to Jennifer McGill, AEJMC, 234 Outlet Pointe Blvd., Columbia, SC 29210­-5667, for receipt by Tuesday, Nov. 21.

  1. a nomination letter that includes the work’s title, author(s) or editor(s), copyright/publication date, publisher, and an explanation of the work’s contribution;
  2. the author’s mailing address, telephone number, and email address;
  3. specific language stating “As the author/editor of this title nominated for the AEJMC-Knudson Latin American Prize, I guarantee that if I am the award winner, I will attend the prize presentation at the 2018 AEJMC Conference in Washington, D.C., as a registered conference participant”; and
  4. six copies of the work to be considered for the award.

This award was endowed by the late Jerry Knudson, an emeritus professor at Temple University. Knudson was a long-time AEJMC member whose research and publications focused on Latin America.

AEJMC Awards

Print friendly Print friendly

About kysh