Tankard Book Award

AEJMC’s Standing Committee on Research invites nominations for the 2018 Tankard Book Award.

This award recognizes the most outstanding book in the field of journalism and mass communication; it also honors authors whose work embodies excellence in research, writing and creativity.

Authors who are AEJMC members as of Nov. 10 may self-nominate any first-edition scholarly monograph, edited collection or textbook published in 2017 that is relevant to journalism and mass communication. (The copyright MUST be 2017.) Nominated books may be co-authored or co-edited and must be well-written and break new ground. Nominations are due Friday, Nov. 10.

The three finalists will discuss their works at an awards panel at AEJMC’s 2018 Washington, D.C., Conference. Following the discussion, the 2018 Tankard Book Award winner will be announced. Finalists must agree to be present at the Tankard panel and register for the AEJMC Conference. Finalists will be notified by early June 2018.  To nominate a title for the award, submit the following to Jennifer McGill, AEJMC, 234 Outlet Pointe Blvd., Columbia, SC 29210-5667, for receipt by Nov. 10:

(1) a nomination letter that includes the book’s title, author(s) or editor(s), copyright date, publisher, ISBN and an explanation of the book’s contribution to the field of journalism and mass communication;
(2) the author’s mailing address, telephone number and email address;
(3) specific language stating “As the author/editor of this title nominated for the 2018 Tankard Book Award, I guarantee that if my book is chosen as a finalist, I will attend the Tankard Book Award panel at the 2018 AEJMC Conference in Washington, D.C., as a registered participant”; and
(4) six copies of the book to be considered for the award. Six copies of publisher’s page proofs may be submitted, but only if the book will be in print by Dec. 31 and will carry a 2017 copyright. Entries that are not in print by Dec. 31 will be disqualified.

Given the large number of nominations each year, only complete nomination packets will be considered.  The Standing Committee on Research reserves the right not to present the award in any given year. First presented in 2007, the award is named in honor of Dr. James Tankard, Jr., posthumous recipient of AEJMC’s 2006 Eleanor Blum Distinguished Service to Research Award, former editor of Journalism Monographs and a longtime University of Texas at Austin journalism professor.

Previous winners include:
Hamilton, J. (2016). Democracy’s Detectives: The Economics of Investigative Journalism. Harvard University Press; Ward, S. (2015). Radical media ethics: A global approach. John Wiley & Sons, Inc.; Usher, N. (2014). Making news at The New York Times. An ethnographic study of The New York Times’ business desk provides a unique vantage point to see the future for news in the digital age. University of Michigan Press; and Benson, R. (2013). Shaping immigration news: A French-American comparison. Cambridge University Press.

Queries about the award should be directed to the chair of the award committee:  Serena Carpenter, Michigan State University at carp@msu.edu.


Print friendly Print friendly

About kysh