Calls and Nominations

Papers, Proposals & Editors

Browse this page for calls for work from related organizations and resources. E-mail new calls to AEJMC.

Media and Misogyny: CALL FOR CHAPTERS
Misogyny and power inequities are at the root of sexual assault, harassment and bullying. Media stories have proliferated and have been amplified by social media in the United States in the case of the Ford-Kavanaugh allegations and the Senate Judiciary Committee hearing, Trumpism and the sexual harassment allegations against incumbent President Donald J. Trump, and by the #MeToo movement. Other countries, too, have had stories rooted in misogyny and power inequities. This call for chapters to be included in a proposed book on Media and Misogyny is to examine misogyny and to capture media representations of misogyny. The deadline for chapters will be June 30, 2019. See complete call.

Misogyny, Media and the Clash of Cultures: CALL FOR CHAPTERS
Misogyny and power inequities are at the root of sexual assault, harassment and bullying. Chapters are sought. Contributors should examine misogyny and power inequities from the perspective of critical/cultural studies; political communication; feminism; race, gender and class; and other relevant perspectives. Deadline for chapters is June 30, 2019. See complete call.

Call for Book Chapters
Forthcoming Book: Television Serial Dramas in the Era of Social Viewing: Gendering and Racing Across Genres and Audience Involvement. Diana I. Rios & Carolyn A. Lin (Eds.), Lexington.
Drama serials have featured characters who break from traditional roles and predictable types based on gender, race, ethnicity and other qualities. We welcome cross-disciplinary frameworks and theories investigating content and active audiences and fans. Submit by June 20, 2019. See complete call.

Call for PapersSWECJMC 2019 Southwest Symposium
The Southwest Education Council for Journalism and Mass Communication (SWECJMC) cordially invites  you  to submit a paper in research, project, or theoretical/conceptual format to be considered for presentation at the 2019 Southwest Symposium to be held at the Xavier University of Louisiana in New Orleans, La., on October 4-5, 2019. The Council is also accepting pedagogy posters for a Poster Session for Teaching Research and Application. Accepted presenters will host their display during an assigned 1-hour poster session. Papers and Poster Session submissions must be received by 11:59 p.m. Central time on Saturday, June 1, 2019. See complete call.

CFP for South Asia Communication Association research in AEJMC Toronto, 2019
Present your research at the South Asia Communication Association (SACA)’s refereed-research session at AEJMC Toronto, 2019. Submit an extended abstract by May 22, 2019 11:59 p.m., EST. Notifications of acceptance: June 3, 2019. Read the complete CFP.

Call for Communications Booknotes Quarterly Journal Book Reviewers
AEJMC members are invited to contribute to Communications Booknotes Quarterly Journal (CBQ), a Taylor & Francis publication. Reviewers from a variety of backgrounds and interests are sought to contribute to upcoming issues. The journal seeks contributions from emerging researchers and advanced graduate students, as well as from seasoned scholars. Essays are also sought that comment about contemporary topics relevant to books, media and related global issues. See complete call.


Other Information of Interest

PRSA Foundation Scholarships & Grants
The PRSA Foundation wants to invest in the next generation of PR talent. From scholarships that recognize student’s hard work during internships to awards recognizing outstanding academic achievement, these scholarships and grants are designed to help the next generation of public relations practitioners both active in PRSSA campus chapters, as well as other deserving undergraduate and graduate students. The deadline to apply for funding is May 31, 2019. See the list of available scholarships.

Print friendly Print friendly